Friday, October 8, 2010

The Nationwide Highway Visitors Basic safety Administration rolls out a new basic safety ranking {system|program|method

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration rolls out a brand new wellbeing ranking process Tuesday -- one with a lot more rigorous standards.

"More stars equal safer cars," Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood stated within a assertion.

"With our upgraded Five-Star Safety Ratings Process, we're raising the bar on wellbeing. By way of new tests, greater crash information, and greater standards, we are generating the wellbeing scores tougher and a lot more meaningful for customers."

The wellbeing scores variety from 1 to 5 stars, with 5 stars becoming the highest.

The agency will release on Tuesday the scores for the primary 2011-model-year automobiles evaluated beneath the new process -- 55 total: 24 passenger cars, 20 SUVs, two vans and 9 pickups.

"For over 30 many years, NHTSA's 5-star crash testing program has been the gold standard for customers looking to acquire the safest cars around the market for his or her households," NHTSA Administrator David Strickland stated in July when the new process was announced.

"Now, this fantastic program has gotten even greater by generating it easier to evaluate the wellbeing efficiency of automobiles not just in terms of crash survivability, but in terms of avoiding crashes inside the very first place."

The brand new scores will include an general vehicle score, which combines the results of a frontal crash test, facet crash tests and rollover resistance tests. For the primary time, the test also will use female crash test dummies to similate issues that have an effect on women.

Related articles:
why women are better drivers

senior drivers pay more for car insurance

young people buy fewer cars

No comments: